Diocesan Coat of Arms

 

The Diocesan Coat of Arms is the primary heraldic identification of the corporation of the Catholic Diocese of Broken Bay. It is the central image expressing the unique origins, history and identity of the local Church.

The Diocese of Broken Bay (Dioecesis Sinus Tortuosi) was erected out of the territory of the Archdiocese of Sydney on 8 April 1986.

The name Broken Bay was chosen for its central location in Sydney's northern region, being the mouth of the Hawkesbury River, which divides the north and south of the Diocese.

Beaming across to Broken Bay is the lighthouse situated on the Barrenjoey Peninsula. This lighthouse has become the key symbol in the Diocesan Coat of Arms. Not only does this unify both sections of the Diocese, it is also a striking image of the light of Christ and the missionary spread of the Gospel over our region.

The arms were designed by Mr Richard d’Apice and Mr Sandy Turnbull of the Australian Heraldry Society and Fr Guy Selvester and illustrated by Mr Sandy Turnbull.
 

Catholic Diocese of
Broken Bay

Building 2, 423 Pennant Hills Road
Pennant Hills NSW 2120

PO Box 340
Pennant Hills NSW 1715

Phone 02 9847 0000
Fax 02 9847 0001
news@dbb.org.au

Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram

Login to CuriaNET